Paulino Earns Mindlin Medal

ASCE has honored Glaucio H. Paulino, Ph.D., F.EMI, M.ASCE, with the 2020 Raymond D. Mindlin Medal for pioneering contributions to the field of mechanics, including geometric mechanics associated to origami and tensegrity engineering, which led to the creation of multifunctional structures and configurational metamaterials with unprecedented properties.

Paulino has made numerous seminal contributions in a variety of areas in the mechanics and physics of solids and structures. His computational mechanics research is based on experimental insight and careful theoretical and/or computational modeling. His main contributions include new developments in origami engineering, topology optimization for large-scale multiscale/multiphysics problems and material design, and methodologies to characterize deformation and fracture behavior of existing and emerging materials and structural systems.

Paulino’s research on topology optimization has had a significant impact in several other engineering fields. He has had a great effect on the field of theoretical and computational fracture mechanics. He has investigated fracture and failure in an array of materials, including hierarchical, multifunctional, functionally graded, soft and bioinspired materials. He is also a leader in the field of multiscale and functionally graded materials.

He has published more than 250 research articles in top peer-refereed journals, numerous conference papers and book chapters, and has edited or coedited several special issues of journals. He authored a paper in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences that was awarded the prestigious Cozzarelli Prize from the National Academy of Sciences for its “scientific excellence and originality.” The paper presents a new “zipper-coupled” origami tube that has unique characteristics. This work has potential applications ranging from metamaterials and microrobotics to aerospace systems and deployable architecture.

The Raymond D. Mindlin Medal is awarded to an individual in recognition of outstanding research contributions to applied solid mechanics.


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -