Tag: Awards

- Advertisement -

Ernest E. Howard Award goes to Fu

ASCE has honored Gongkang Fu, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2021 Ernest E. Howard Award for innovative and significant contributions to national and state practice specifications advancing structural engineering.

Meet the 5 Huber Prize recipients for 2021

ASCE has honored Shideh Dashti, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Ning Lin, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Meagan S. Mauter, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Alexandros A. Taflanidis, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; and Ming Xu, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, as the 2021 winners of the Walter L. Huber Civil Engineering Research Prizes.

CUNY civil engineering department wins LeFevre Award

ASCE has honored the Department of Civil Engineering, City College of New York, City University of New York (Large Program) with the 2021 Walter LeFevre Award for their outstanding program promoting licensure, ethics, and professionalism.

ASCE bestows Mindlin Medal to Amabili

ASCE has honored Marco Amabili, Ph.D., P.Eng, M.ASCE, with the 2021 Raymond D. Mindlin Medal for outstanding research contributions to applied solid mechanics, with special emphasis on theoretical, numerical, and experimental studies on nonlinear mechanics and large-amplitude vibrations of shells and plates.

Zhang and Lu earn 2021 Norman Medal

ASCE has honored Chao Zhang, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE, and Ning Lu, Ph.D., F.EMI, F.ASCE, with the Norman Medal for their paper “Unified Effective Stress Equation for Soil,” Journal of Engineering Mechanics, February 2020.

Writing and research duo receives ASCE State-of-the-Art Award

ASCE has honored Evan P. O’Brien and Irene Xagoraraki, Ph.D., with the ASCE State-of-the-Art of Civil Engineering Award for their paper “Removal of Viruses in Membrane Bioreactors,” Journal of Environmental Engineering, July 2020.

Vestroni earns 2021 von Karman Medal

ASCE has honored Fabrizio Vestroni with the 2021 Theodore von Karman Medal for his stellar and unique career in academia and research, professional practice, and leadership in academic administration for the benefit of generations of civil engineers.

Team of 4 wins Wellington Prize

ASCE has honored Bharadwaj R.K. Mantha, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Carol C. Menassa, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Vineet R. Kamat, Ph.D., M.ASCE, and Clive R. D’Souza with the 2021 Arthur M. Wellington Prize for their paper “Evaluation of Preference- and Constraint-Sensitive Path Planning for Assisted Navigation in Indoor Building Environments,” Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering, June 2020.

Moffatt-Nichol Award given to Yeh

ASCE has honored Harry Hsiu-Jen Yeh, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2021 John G. Moffatt–Frank E. Nichol Harbor and Coastal Engineering Award for broad and interdisciplinary laboratory knowledge of coastal effects of tsunami to the general public.

Li receives 2021 Housner Medal

ASCE has honored Hui Li, Ph.D., with the 2021 George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal for pioneering research in the development and implementation of structural monitoring and control systems in large-scale structures, as well as for her commitment to developing innovative education programs for students.