Mays Earns 2020 Arid Lands Award

ASCE has honored Larry W. Mays, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE, with the 2020 Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award for his contributions to water resources engineering for arid lands, focusing on water infrastructure systems, water resources sustainability and ancient water systems.

Mays is one of the most accomplished researchers, authors, teachers, mentors and engineers in the world. These facts are evidenced by more than 120 peer-reviewed papers, 24 books edited or authored, 60 graduate students mentored, and his work as a consultant on an international basis for such organizations as the UNDP, World Bank, UAE University and many others, and on a national basis for many government agencies and municipalities, such as the State of Texas Attorney General’s Office, Metropolitan Water District of Southern California, American Water Works Association, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, etc., and many insurance companies and law firms.

He has been honored by his peers for his research, books publications, and general contributions to the hydrologic and water resources fields in the last few years via the 2014 ASCE Julian Hinds Award, 2014 Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water: Surface Water Prize, 2015 Warren A. Hall Medal from the Universities Council on Water Resources, and the 2016 ASCE Ven Te Chow Award.

The Arid Land Hydraulic Engineering Award is given in recognition of original contributions in hydraulics; hydrology including climatology, planning, irrigation and drainage; hydroelectric power development; navigation specially applicable to arid or semi-arid climates; or contributions to the understanding and development of new technology in river basins.


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -