ASCE Honors Class of 2020 Distinguished Members

ASCE has announced its newest class of Distinguished Members, a status reserved for the most eminent civil engineers in the Society.

Of all ASCE membership, only 223 can call themselves Distinguished Members.

Here are the eight Distinguished Members for 2020. Click each name for more on the honoree’s career:

Lorne G. Everett, Ph.D., D.Sc, Hon.D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE, a leading expert in groundwater monitoring, characterization and remediation technologies.

George E. (“Edd”) Gibson Jr., Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, NAC, considered the foremost expert in front-end planning of capital facilities in academia.

D. Vaughan Griffiths, Ph.D., D.Sc., D.GE, P.E., C.Eng., Dist.M.ASCE, leader in the fields of risk assessment and finite element modeling.

James R. Harris, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, innovative developer of standards for structural design loads.

Ron Klemencic, P.E., F.SEI, Dist.M.ASCE, NAC, NAE, one of the world’s leading structural engineers of high-rise buildings.

Steven L. Kramer, Ph.D., Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, pioneering developer of performance-based geotechnical earthquake engineering concepts.

Ronald K. (“Kerry”) Rowe, Ph.D., P.Eng., Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, international leader in geotechnical, geoenvironmental and geosynthetics engineering.

Richard M. Vogel, Ph.D., Dist.M.ASCE, influential hydrologist and professor emeritus in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Tufts University.


- Advertisement -


  1. My Heartiest congratulations to all eight recipients.
    Their works will be of immence help in Engineering field.
    May God be always with them.

  2. My congratulations with all the best to eight honorable Distinguished members for 2020. Their work definitely will add new ideas to engineering field.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -