ASCE 2020 Convention – Society Award Recipients

ASCE presents nearly 100 Society awards every year, recognizing civil engineers who advance the profession either through achievement or published papers.

The following ASCE award recipients will be honored at the ASCE 2020 Convention, Oct. 28-30, 2020:

(Click on each honoree to learn more about the award and see the winners’ acceptance speech.)

• S. C. Chen; Y. T. Sheu; Rao Y. Surampalli, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, Hon.D.WRE, F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE; Tian C. Zhang, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE; and Jimmy Chih-Ming Kao, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.EWRI, F.ASCE, with the 2020 Rudolph Hering Medal

• Amir AghaKouchak, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE; Michele Barbato, Ph.D., P.E., F.SEI, M.ASCE; Eleni Chatzi, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; John D. Fortner, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; and Zhiyong J. Ren, Ph.D., EIT, A.M.ASCE with the 2020 Walter L. Huber Research Prizes

• Chong Tang and Kok-Kwang Phoon, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE, with the 2020 Norman Medal

• Xiaofeng Liu, P.E., M.ASCE, and Jie Zhang, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2020 ASCE State of the Art of Civil Engineering Award

• Ran Cao, Ph.D., A.M.ASCE; Anil K. Agrawal, P.E., F.SEI, M.ASCE; Sherif El-Tawil, P.E., F.ASCE; Xiaochen Xu; and Waider Wong with the 2020 Wellington Prize

• Amanda A. Tanaka, P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2020 Edmund Friedman Young Engineer Award for Professional Achievement

• Beena Ajmera, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2020 Collingwood Prize

• Philadelphia Younger Member Forum (Large Groups) and Mississippi Section Younger Member Group (Small Groups) with the Younger Member Group Award

• Robert B. Sowby, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, with the Daniel W. Mead Prize for Younger Members

• Bernard G. Dennis Jr., M.ASCE, with the 2020 Civil Engineering History and Heritage Award

• Dennis D. Truax, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE, with the 2020 Edmund Friedman Professional Recognition Award

• Mustafa Mashal, Ph.D., C.Eng, CP Eng, P.E., M.ASCE, and Alessandro Palermo, Ph.D., with the 2020 Alfred Noble Prize

• Todd T. Semonite, P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, with the 2020 ASCE Presidents’ Award

• William E. Kelly, Ph.D., P.E., ENV SP, F.ASCE, and Ryan Kobbe, P.E., M.ASCE, with the 2020 President’s Medal

• Sarah S. McEwen, P.E., M.ASCE; Mario Riccozi, P.E., F.ASCE; and Camilla M. Saviz, Ph.D., P.E., ENV SP, F.ASCE, with the 2020 William H. Wisely American Civil Engineer Award

• Brock E. Barry, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE, with the 2020 Professional Practice Ethics and Leadership Award

• Malcolm G. McLaren, P.E., S.E.C.B., M.ASCE, with the 2020 Civil Engineering Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Majed Al-Ghandour, Ph.D., P.E., CPM, M.ASCE, with the 2020 Government Civil Engineer of the Year Award

Edith Martinez-Guerra, EI, R.Eng, A.M.ASCE, with the 2020 Young Government Civil Engineer of the Year Award

• Youngjib Ham, Ph.D, A.M.ASCE, and Jaeyoon Kim, S.M.ASCE, with the 2020 Journal of Management in Engineering Best Peer Reviewed Paper Award

Learn more about the ASCE 2020 Virtual Convention.


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -