Sitharam Named ASCE Fellow

T. G. Sitharam, Ph.D., F.ASCE, director of the Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, Assam, has been named a Fellow by the ASCE Board of Direction.

Sitharam also holds the position of chairman, BOG of IITG, and has been a senior professor in the Department of Civil Engineering, Indian Institute of Science, in Bangalore, India. He was formerly a chaired professor in the area of Energy and Mechanical Sciences at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc).

Presently, he is the Honorary Professorial Fellow at University of Wollongong, Wollongong, Australia, and Distinguished Professor at Hankou University International Innovation Centre, China. He is also chairman of the Research Council, CSIR–Central Building Research Institute, Roorkee, and chairman, Executive Council of Visvesvaraya Industrial & Technological Museum.

Sitharam is a governing council member of the National Council for Science Museums, Government of India, and EC member of AICTE, in New Delhi. Additionally, he is the founding president of the International Association for Coastal Reservoir Research, registered in NSW, Australia, and president, Indian Society for Earthquake Technology, Roorkee. Also, he is currently the chairman of AICTE’s South Western zonal committee.

He is the chief editor of the International Journal of Geotechnical Earthquake Engineering and editor-in-chief for Springer’s book series “Transactions in Civil and Environmental Engineering,” Singapore.

In 2015, he received the IGS Kuckleman Award for his lifetime contributions to geotechnical engineering, and in 2014 received the Prof. Gopal Ranjan Research Award from IIT Roorkee. The Amulya and Vimala Reddy Lecture Award (IISc, Bangalore) in the field of Sustainable Development was conferred on Sitharam for 2014. Previous to this, he was given the Sir C.V. Raman State Award for Young Scientists, Government of Karnataka (2002) in recognition and appreciation of exceptional contributions to engineering sciences.

He was also the recipient of 1998’s S.P. Research Award (SAARC) from SP research foundation, USA, for his contributions to geotechnical engineering in SAARC countries. As well, he has received many best paper awards for his papers published in conferences and journals.

He is a fellow of the Institution of Civil engineers, UK, and of many other societies, including those actively engaged in socially relevant projects.

He obtained his Ph.D. in civil engineering from University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada (1991). For his postdoctoral work, he served as a research scientist at the Centre for Earth Sciences and Engineering in the Department of Petroleum Engineering, University of Texas at Austin, Texas, Until 1994.


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -