Several From ASCE Among New NAE Inductees

The National Academy of Engineering’s 2019 class of inductees includes several ASCE members.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions an engineer can receive.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing and implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

The total U.S. membership is now 2,297, with the number of foreign members 272.

ASCE members among the 2019 inductees:

Mary Baker, M.ASCE, chairman and president, ATA Engineering Inc., San Diego.

“For computer simulation methods for structural mechanics problems and engineering leadership.”

Ana P. Barros, Ph.D., P.E., F.ASCE, James L. Meriam Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Duke University, Durham, NC.

“For contributions to understanding and prediction of precipitation dynamics and flood hazards in mountainous terrains.”

Dorota Alicja Grejner-Brzezinska, M.ASCE, Lowber B. Strange Endowed Professor and chair, civil, environmental, and geodetic engineering, Ohio State University, Columbus.

“For contributions to geodetic science and satellite navigation, including integration with artificial intelligence.”

Charles A. Kircher, Ph.D., P.E., M.ASCE, principal, Kircher & Associates, Palo Alto, CA.

“For advancing structural engineering practice in earthquake engineering and loss prevention in building design.”

John Hodge Koon, Ph.D., P.E., D.WRE, F.ASCE, president, John H. Koon & Associates, Atlanta.

“For contributions to the design of systems to treat chemically complex industrial wastewaters.”

Jane McKee Smith, Ph.D., P.E., D.CE, Dist.M.ASCE, senior research scientist for hydrodynamic phenomena, Engineering Research and Development Center, U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Vicksburg, MS.

“For leadership in coastal engineering research and development resulting in improved infrastructure resilience.”

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted in a ceremony at NAE’s annual meeting Oct. 6 in Washington, DC.


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -