Class of 2016 Adds Nine to ASCE’s Roster of Distinguished Members

The number is astoundingly small – 679.

Of everyone who has been a member of ASCE across our 164-year history, only 679 have achieved Distinguished Member status, known as Honorary Member prior to 2008. It is the highest honor ASCE can bestow, reserved for professionals who have attained eminence in some branch of civil engineering or in related arts and sciences, including education and construction.

To this select group, the ASCE Board of Direction recently elected nine professionals as the Class of 2016 Distinguished Members.
They include:

M. Hanif Chaudhry, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE

Gary Y.K. Chock, S.E., D.CE, F.SEI, Dist.M.ASCE

Raymond “Paul” Giroux, Dist.M.ASCE

Kenneth C. Hover, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE

Jay R. Lund, Ph.D., F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE

Patrick J. Natale, P.E., CAE, Dist.M.ASCE

James A. Rispoli, P.E., NAC, Dist.M.ASCE

Heinz G. Stefan, Dr.Ing., Dist.M.ASCE

Kenneth H. Stokoe II, Ph.D., P.E., NAE, Dist.M.ASCE

The new class will receive their honors during ceremonies at the ASCE 2016 Convention, Sept. 28 through Oct. 1, in Portland, OR.

- Advertisement -


  1. Heartiest congratulations Mr.Hanif chaudhry.We are proud of your contributions to the profession and bringing honour for your country Pakistan.

  2. Dear Distinguished Members
    I welcome and congratulate all new elevated members of ASCE. I request all the members to visit my organisation and deliver their subject of expertise to young ignited civil engineers.
    with regards
    Ashutosh S.Trivedi

  3. To
    The Class of 2016 Distinguished Members,

    Congratulations to you all,
    and Best Wishes.

    Rajayogan Palanichamy
    ASCE India Section Southern Region President


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -