ASCE Announces Distinguished Members Class of 2019

ASCE has announced its newest class of Distinguished Members, a status reserved for the most eminent civil engineers in the Society.

Only 220 of ASCE’s more than 150,000 current members can call themselves Distinguished Members.

The 2019 honorees:

(click on each name to learn more about the Distinguished Member’s career)

Jeanette A. Brown, P.E., D.WRE, BCEE, Dist.M.ASCE, an authority on biological nitrogen removal in wastewater treatment plants.

Gregory G. Deierlein, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, a pioneering researcher in performance-based earthquake engineering.

David A. Dzombak, Ph.D., P.E., BCEE, D.WRE, Dist.M.ASCE, NAE, a globally prominent engineer in the area of water-quality engineering.

Rao S. Govindaraju, Ph.D., P.E., P.H., DWRE, F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE, a scholar recognized internationally for his work in statistical hydrology.

Anthony R. Ingraffea, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, the developer of foundational finite element and boundary element methods of analysis for crack propagation.

M. Levent Kavvas, Ph.D., Dist.M.ASCE, renowned for contributions to the development of a methodology for estimation of maximum precipitation, as well as the development of a new scaling theory of hydrologic processes.

Essam Radwan, Ph.D., P.E., Dist.M.ASCE, internationally recognized for his research into incorporating safety and human factors in optimizing traffic flows.

Edward J. Schmeltz, P.E., D.CE, D.OE, D.PE, D.NE, Dist.M.ASCE, an innovative planner and designer of ports, harbors, breakwaters, coastal structures, and other marine facilities.

Uri Shamir, Ph.D., F.EWRI, Dist.M.ASCE, a preeminent water resources systems analyst and engineer.


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -